Understanding Connecticut’s Personal Injury Claim Time Limits 

After being involved in an accident or injured by someone else’s recklessness, carelessness, or negligence, you may wonder if you can file a personal injury claim to seek compensation.

However, if you are unsure who is at fault, you may want to wait to file a claim until the investigation is complete. You may not even be sure if your soreness is due to the accident.

While this may be the case, you do not have an unlimited amount of time to file a personal injury claim in Connecticut.

Connecticut’s Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims

Connecticut’s statute of limitations to file a personal injury claim is two years. If you do not file a claim in that two years, it will likely be thrown out. The only exception to this is the “date of discovery” statute.

Date of Discovery Statute

There is some flexibility when it comes to the two-year statute of limitations. If an injury was not known when the incident or accident occurred, then the statute and two-year countdown will begin on the date of discovery.

For example, a person may rear-end you, which causes just minor damage and minimal aches and pains. However, you may have significant back pains three years later, and your doctor may tell you it is probably due to a car accident.

In this situation, you may still be able to file a claim for compensation because you were unaware of the injury that occurred at the time of the accident. In this case, the statute will probably start on the day you experienced pain, not when a medical professional diagnosed it.

Steps to File a Personal Injury Claim Quickly

It is best to contact a Connecticut personal injury attorney as soon after your accident as possible to begin the claims process.

When you seek experienced representation, you will have someone to help you build a solid case and help you achieve a successful outcome.

By filing a case on time, with the help of an experienced attorney, you can likely collect the compensation you are entitled to, which includes the following:

  • All accident-related medical costs
  • Damages to your personal property
  • Lost wages
  • Lost earning capacity
  • Pain and suffering
  • Mental anguish

The specific damages you can receive depend on your case and situation. Your attorney can provide more information about the type and amount of compensation you may receive.

Do Not Wait too Long to File a Personal Injury Claim in Connecticut.

Being injured in an accident caused by someone else can be a stressful and overwhelming situation. While you may be focused on your recovery, you should not forget that you have limited time to file a claim.

Be sure to contact an experienced Connecticut personal injury attorney who can review your case and ensure your claim is filed in the proper amount of time. Most attorneys offer a free initial consultation so you can feel confident you have found the right person for the job.

Next Post

Information For The Plaintiff

Sun Mar 5 , 2023
Jamail won’t respond to ‘Quinn for publication while this case is scheduled for trial. Pro-Se filers may file court documents in the Probate division. In 1992 alone he negotiated a $270 million, mid-trial settlement on behalf of children living near a toxic-waste dump and won a $560 million jury award against […]

You May Like